Day 24 – small stones

huddled in a blanket,
fingers wrapped around a coffee mug
steam rising across my face
not so much for the drinking as the warmth

I raise my mug to Winter —
“May you linger here this year,
not hurried by Spring as in years passed.”

I long for snow
not ice
Winter, stay and be kind

 

NOTE: In the winter of 2009, Oklahoma was covered in ice. In the dead of night, with the electricity out, you could hear the cracking of tree limbs all around you. It was such a mournful sound. The next 3 winters were mostly warm with only a few small snow falls. I am from Virginia where we get more snow than ice and I miss the beautiful snow.

What's on your mind? Let me know!

