When It’s Too Much

If only you knew
how your voice claws
at my brain
rips it open
to the screaming
screaming
of my sanity

I can go
whole days
weeks even
without saying a word
instead, I listen
to the inner dialogues
of characters
chattering away
in my head

But not you
you always have tales
that beg to be told
your voice gets loud
louder and louder
until I no longer hear
the words
just the squeal
digging into my brain

I am too polite
to tell you
Please shut up

What's on your mind? Let me know!

