The Muse — Poetry

She gathers moonbeams by the sea
harnesses the energy in her hands
and tosses knowledge to mankind

She has kept the stories alive
through lyrics and songs
prophesies of old for mankind

She awakens poets at midnight
churns words into rhyme
sacred tomes shared with mankind

She is a silent whisper
a breath upon the four winds
a reminder of tomorrows for mankind

She is diviner and magician
set high upon Olympus
a channel between gods and mankind

©April 2015, Lori Carlson

7 thoughts on “The Muse — Poetry

  1. Claire Born says:

    I really like this poem, Lori! Sent shivvers up me timbers! Wooh!

    May I offer some small revision for consideration? As usual, I find myself wanting to eliminate small words and play with line breaks. Take it or leave it; I won’t be offended; I just had to play ;~)

    She gathers moonbeams by the sea, harnesses energy
    in her hands,
    tosses knowledge
    to mankind.

    Keeping stories alive, through lyrics,
    songs become
    prophesies of old
    for mankind.

    She awakens poets at midnight
    churning words into rhyme
    sacred tomes shared
    with mankind.

    A silent whisper, she.
    A breath upon the four winds, she
    holds tomorrows for mankind;

    Diviner and magician, she
    sits high upon Olympus,
    a channel between gods and mankind

    • Lori Carlson says:

      Nice, Claire… you always know where to cut things 😀 I will take this into consideration when I revise this (have copied it) …I always love what you do with words 😀

  2. Absolutely Beautiful you painted a pic w/ words !

  3. Very nice, Lori 🙂

What's on your mind? Let me know!

