Guest Poet -Srdjan Solkotovic

The following poem is from guest poet, Srdjan Solkotovic @ The Writing Hut. Run Away is taken from Srdjan’s book of poetry, Rain and Wind, published in 2013 at Smashwords. All rights belong to the author and I have been given permission to post this poem here. Please do not distribute without Srdjan’s permission.


Run Away

Run away
Don’t let the rain scare you
Don’t let the wind hold you back
Run away into the world
The clouds will fade away
And the sun will shine your way
The wind will blow in a different direction
And it will push you forward

Run away
Don’t live your life in fear
Can’t you hear
They are calling for you
The spirits, they don’t want you to fear
Let a tear when you have to
But never forget that you are still you
Run away, don’t live without seeing the world.

Copyright 2013 Srdjan Solkotovic


Note: The Writing Hut accepts poetry, short fiction, fiction and writing tips. If you’d like to see your work published there, hop on over the site, register and send along your work. This site does not pay for publication and you retain all rights to your work.


If you would like to see your work published here at A Whispered Wind as a guest, please email me at ravynehawke at gmail dot com (you know what to do to fix that so it’s an actual email address, right? I thought so!). All poetry and short fiction is welcomed.

4 thoughts on “Guest Poet -Srdjan Solkotovic

  1. Thank you to Srdjan, for writing such an emotion-producing poem. Like Lori, you write so beautifully and evocatively [of me]:
    Run away
    Don’t live your life in fear
    Can’t you hear
    They are calling for you
    The spirits, they don’t want you to fear
    Let a tear when you have to
    I look forward to reading/discovering more of you.
    And, thanks Lori, for sharing this incredible poet.

  2. Thank you for the post. I am glad you enjoyed this enough to post it, I will await you and other writers on my site if you are willing to send in your works. Let’s make people aware of the beauty of words, the beauty of poetry.

    • Lori Carlson says:

      You are most welcome, Srdjan. Would you mind if I post more of your poems off and on throughout this year? There are some wonderful poems in your collection and I would love to share them with the WordPress community. Also, if you wouldn’t mind… email me where others can purchase your book of poems and I will add a link here too.

      These two lines endeared me most to this poem: “But never forget that you are still you / Run away, don’t live without seeing the world.” Wow, just so wow… I wish someone had told me this when I was in my 20s 🙂

What's on your mind? Let me know!

