Requiem to Goodbye

Beautiful, haunting poetry.
Comments are disabled. Please visit Richard’s blog to leave a comment.

Richard M. Ankers - Author


Change:

A state of flux,

The transition from birth to life to death.

Yet, here I am beyond,

Changed, but not.

Ensconced in night,

Wrapped in shade,

I mull over a soul departed,

Whilst my essence remains.

Reborn?

Perhaps.

Midnight has renewed

What midday sort to strip,

Obsidian obliterated gold.

And although I feel nothing,

Wish for nothing,

Would die for nothing, except, except…

There is still you.

Yes, you.

I would slaughter it all

For you;

Ride infinity’s tides

For you;

Kill all,

For you.

I would tear down eternity,

Strip away time,

Repaint the universe crimson

And laugh at the stars.

I would.

I could.

I will.

Yet, I pause.

Incisors hover, halt, retract,

Cannot strike,

Cannot bring you back,

Return and rebuild you,

My Immortal, the one I have found after so long.

I won’t.

I can’t.

I shan’t.

Love remains.

Love forces my hand.

And, as…

View original post 65 more words

