#IWSG -New Territory

Insecure Writers Support Group Badge

The Insecure Writers Support Group  is where writers can share their insecurities and encourage one another. IWSG was founded by Alex J. Cavanaugh and we share our posts the first Wednesday of the month. The co-hosts this month are: Lauren Hennessy, Lisa Buie-Collard, Lidy, Christine Rains, and Mary Aalgaard. If you’d like to join in, just click the link above for the IWSG sign-up!


 

I am feeling a bit apprehensive right now. I’ve crossed into new territory. Most of my writing career (if you can call it that) has been spent writing poetry and short fiction. The only time I have ever written anything longer than 2000 words was back last April when I wrote a science fiction novella for the A-to-Z Challenge. It ended up being around 44,000 words. But you see, Science Fiction is my favorite genre to write in. I like creating my own worlds, making up my own rules and creating bizarre alien characters. I seem to be able to easily write Horror too. However, when it comes to writing mysteries, well, that is completely new territory for me. I love to watch mysteries, always have. But to actually sit down and write one myself? Nope, never done it.

Well, that is exactly the challenge I have set for myself this month. I like to do that sometimes. Challenge myself, force myself out of my comfort zone. It keeps me on my toes. So back in December, when I was plotting out writing projects for 2016, I came up with the bright idea to write a Noir-style mystery for the entire month of March, a serial in 31 parts. I began researching for it back in mid-February and last week, I worked out my characters and plot. As for the story itself, I am writing it each day by the seat of my pants, allowing the story to take me where it wants to go, but hopefully in the direction of my plot.

So why the apprehension? I am scared I won’t have enough story to tell for 31 days. I am scared I won’t keep it suspenseful and interesting. I am terrified that my main character will be too cliched and not original enough. I suppose all writers deal with this anxiety, but this is really the first time I’ve lost sleep over a writing project.

If anyone is interested, the story is called The Stacked Deck. Check it out, if you’d like. And if there are any mystery writers in our IWSG group who can offer me any advice, please do let me know. Until next month, I wish you all an anxiety free month of writing!

 

8 thoughts on “#IWSG -New Territory

  1. Oh, interesting! I went from writing mysteries and thrillers to a Sci-Fi challenge. It worked out really well for me, and I had lots of fun.

  2. Mysticalwriter says:

    Reblogged this on Mysticalwriter and commented:
    A reblog from Lori Carlson at A Whispered Wind. She has put an invite out for a group named Insecure Writers Support Group or called IWSG.
    Anyone interested go to the link!

  3. Chrys Fey says:

    This is quite a challenge, but I bet you’ll do splendidly. Good luck! 🙂

  4. Soul Gifts says:

    You are full of all sorts of fascinating information, Lori ! Another one I will have to put onto a think about list. I need 48 hours in a day!!!

What's on your mind? Let me know!

