Hump Day Poetry – Week 5 – Words

Michael’s wonderful reflective poem on writing, Wednesdays and the decline during the week.
Comments are disabled. Please visit Michael’s blog to leave a comment. Thanks!

Morpethroad

2759465-abstract-speaker-silhouette-with-letters-on-a-white-background

It’s barely the middle of the week

I stand triumphant on the peak

Of another wonderful Wednesday.

Words have flowed from my mind

Down through my fingers

Across the screen in a logical way.

It gets like that early in the week

When ideas flow, the skies your limit

With nothing to lose and no one to impress

Its all a matter of words, words, words.

Have you ever wondered why it is?

That from today its like pulling teeth

Finding the word that will match the metre

So that by Friday it’s a jumble

A pile of meaningless piffle

Gathering at your feet as they fall to the floor.

Thank God I say as Monday arrives

I pick up handfuls of illogical words

Throw them at the screen and watch them dance

As they push and shove their way once again

To form the sense that eluded me before.

View original post 26 more words

