small stones – April 28, 2016

dark-surreal-art30

a strange, unusual, rambling early morning small stone…

a friend asked me why I rarely write fiction in first person
the simplest explanation is I generally write about other characters and the *I* seems far too personal
but I don’t think the explanation is so simple anymore
my poetry is almost always personal
I bleed on the page, shed skin and veins and become mere bones
maybe I am scared of putting too much of me into my works of fiction
I distance myself from the characters I write so that they can live their own lives and not the strange, dark life I exist in
otherwise, all of my characters would be the same – melancholy, withdrawn, sad, slightly demented, perhaps
or maybe all of this is merely bullshit
and I am sure to change opinions tomorrow

 

14 thoughts on “small stones – April 28, 2016

  1. BunKaryudo says:

    I guess writers are going to be influenced by their own experiences, but I think the danger is smothering all individuality in their characters so they all seem the same (i.e. strangely like the writer).

  2. pluviolover says:

    I like this. Maybe cuz I have the same problem with 1st person. Thanks for a good one.

  3. calensariel says:

    I write so that they can live their own lives… That’s an amazing thing to realize.

  4. Aneesh says:

    Writing in first person is always interesting ๐Ÿ™‚
    I did write few stories but mostly poems..
    You made me think of all the old posts i write with this I!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. SD Gates says:

    I have found it very difficult to write in first person. I guess I will now have to wonder why that is.

  6. Soul Gifts says:

    I find I write fiction often in a story telling first person, but my characters are nameless. What does that say about me ?! I don’t know. That’s just the way my stories usually emerge.

  7. j1818 says:

    I’m enjoying your blog and poetry! I’m new to blogging and would love to ask you some questions! How can I contact you directly? I’m honored that you are following my blog, however, you’re doing so at it’s old address. Book Junkie is now Book Junkie Reviews at https://abookjunkiereviews.wordpress.com
    Hope to hear back from you!

What's on your mind? Let me know!

