Three Days, Three Quotes Challenge – Day 2

The lovely Valerie over at Life and My Insights has nominated me for the Three Days, Three Quotes Challenge. Thank you, Valerie. I am humbled and honored for the recognition.

The Rules:

  1. Three quotes for three days .
  2. Three nominees each day (no repetition).
  3. Thank the person who nominated you.
  4. Inform the nominees.

Day Two’s Quote:

“Kill your darlings, kill your darlings, even when it breaks your egocentric little scribbler’s heart, kill your darlings.”
― Stephen King, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

I love this quote because it reminds me that sometimes we become too enamored with the words we write, even when those words may not fit our narrative or be quite right. King gives us permission to slaughter those words without remorse. I will admit though, I don’t kill AND bury my darlings. Often, I just copy and paste those darlings into a file that I keep in case those words ever fit somewhere else more appropriately.

Nominations:

As many know, I do not do the nominations part of these challenges. So many of my lovely blogger friends here on WordPress have nomination/award-free blogs and I respect them for that choice. So as always, I will say… if you want to join in on this lovely challenge, snag the rules, share your quotes and link back to my post so I can read your quotes.

See you again tomorrow for the final quote.

One thought on “Three Days, Three Quotes Challenge – Day 2

  1. I really like the save it for later idea.

What's on your mind? Let me know!

