Ghosts of New Year

A ghostly tale that keeps you in suspense until the great twist at the end.
Comments are closed. Please visit Richard’s blog to leave a comment. Thanks!

Richard M. Ankers

Ghosts of New Year

City236.jpgHave you seen it?

“What?” I said looking around.

The Past. The Present. The Future.

“I’ve seen two of them,” I replied and jumped behind the fridge. There was nobody there.

Such a shame. Such a shame.

The voice ricocheted around the room as though the last lonely echo fleeing a subterranean tunnel.

“John, is that you?”

I had no idea why I said it because I’d only ever known one John and he’d died in a car crash aged seven. There was just something about the voice that made me panic, set my heart all a jitter; it unnerved me.

I wish I could show you the future as I see it in colours and sound and cascades of gold. I can’t, though. No, not yet.

“Look whoever you are!” I growled in as fearsome a tone as I could muster. “Who are you? Where…

View original post 204 more words

