Health Update – Flu Edition #3

Hello dear friends and readers. Just an update on my health. It has now been over two weeks since I caught that nasty flu bug. I am mostly better, but still not 100%. The cough has lingered and so has the fatigue. As some of you know, I have a suppressed immune system from taking chemo several years back, so any time I get sick, it takes me far longer than normal to get well again. But, not only have I been trying to take care of me, I have also been taking care of my dad. We are both on the road to recovery.

Some things I have been doing to help take care of myself:

  • lots of rest
  • using cayenne pepper and garlic in all of my soups and broths (still the only things I’ve been able to keep down)
  • taking high dosages of Vitamin C (2000 mgs twice a day)
  • drinking ginger and tulsi (holy basil) teas – (thank you to tigre23 for suggesting the ginger tea!)
  • dry brushing and hot showers

Although I’ve had the severe cough, I didn’t get the gunk in my chest like my dad did. I attribute this to the cayenne pepper, garlic and ginger. Unfortunately, I couldn’t get my dad to use these remedies. His went into pneumonia, while mine has just been irritating. My brother took my advice about cayenne pepper and hot sauce, so his never got more severe than an annoying cough too. We all plan on kicking my sister squarely in the arse on her next visit for giving us this nasty flu *laughs*

I have the desire to jump back into all of my writing projects, but since I am still so fatigued, I am going to hold off until the end of the month. Hopefully within the next 6 days, the sluggishness will have vanquished and I will be able to do more than just sleep all day. I miss all of you and look forward to engaging with you all again soon. Much love and blessings to you all!

5 thoughts on “Health Update – Flu Edition #3

  1. I am glad you are feeling better, Lori! Get well soon and come back to us!

  2. Lori Carlson says:

    Reblogged this on As the Fates Would Have It and commented:

    Reblogging this here since not all of my readers follow my A Whispered Wind blog. I am sure you’ve wondered by now what’s happened to me.

  3. Looking forward to seeing you back again, Lori.

What's on your mind? Let me know!

