#IWSG – The Power of Planning

Insecure Writers Support Group Badge

This is my first time posting with the Insecure Writers Support Group, where writers can share their insecurities and encourage one another. IWSG was founded by Alex J. Cavanaugh and we share our posts the first Wednesday of the month. The co-hosts this month are:  Allison Gammons, Tamara Narayan, Eva E. Solar, Rachel Pattison, and Ann V. Friend.  If you’d like to join in, just click the link above for the IWSG sign-up!


 

Last month I didn’t do much creative writing. Instead, I participated in a few challenges. It had been a while since I’d done much writing, last May to be exact. So I really needed to get the creative juices flowing. When doing challenges, I will often find myself writing a poem or flash fiction story now and again and that was exactly what I needed. It worked like a charm!

This month, over at my Promptly Written blog, I am writing 29 prompted Horror Tales. I began prepping for this in January by asking my readers here at WordPress and writing friends on Facebook for prompt suggestions. They did not disappoint me! On the last week of January, I organized all of the stories so that when I began writing them in February, I would know exactly what to write on each day. I cannot begin to tell you how amazing this has been for me. I am usually a pantser writer and this is the first time I have planned out and organized my writing. I have a lot of writing projects lined up for this year, so this planning is necessary.

Next month, I will be writing a Film-Noir type WhoDunIt here on this blog. I have already begun prepping for it by watching some film-noir and contemplating my characters, plots and cliff-hangers.

My biggest fear is keeping the stamina going. The next eleven months are filled with one writing project after another and I just hope I can keep up. I’ve done a few writing challenges here and there over the years, but this is the first year that I have made writing plans for each month of the year. Wish me luck!

 

29 thoughts on “#IWSG – The Power of Planning

  1. spunkonastick says:

    21 days to a habit. If you can make it a month, you can continue.

  2. Brilliant idea! If you can get through a month of prompts, you can continue writing without a problem.
    Welcome to the IWSG. Sorry so late. Wish I could visit everyone on Wednesday.

  3. BunKaryudo says:

    Good luck! Incidentally, eleventh months is also how long I’ve been blogging.

  4. […] #IWSG – The Power of Planning […]

  5. Welcome to IWSG! It sounds like you have great plans in place for the year. Prompts are a lot of fun to use 🙂 I hope you can maintain your stamina, good luck!

  6. joey says:

    Best of luck!
    Since I got Scrivener, I’ve become increasingly aware of how important organizing is. It’s something I really struggle with in my larger works.
    (Funny, because tangible things are super easy for me to organize…)

    • Lori Carlson says:

      Thanks, Joey… is Scrivener worth the money? I’ve heard good and bad things about it. Is it hard to learn to use? Good luck with your writing projects too!

      • joey says:

        I think it was worth the $40 I spent, yes. I love the ability to move entire sections with a few clicks. I love the “bulletin board” feature as well.
        It was not easy to figure out. In fact, I’d still love to take a course on it, because I’m sure it has further potential untapped by me.
        Thanks 🙂

      • Lori Carlson says:

        Thanks Joey… I’ve been considering it. It’s nice to hear what other users think about it. Appreciate you taking the time to let me know 🙂

      • joey says:

        No problem 🙂

  7. You are ambitious! Good luck with all the writing, and the film noir stuff sounds AWESOME.

    IWSG February

  8. Welcome to the group. Great first post. Best of luck on keeping the writing flowing.
    Tweeted.

  9. You go girl! Welcome to IWSG, Lori. You’re in the right place. You’re also inspiring. 29 prompts. Not sure I could that.

  10. Jen says:

    Hi Lori! Very nice to “meet” you and welcome to the IWSG! I love how you’ve planned out your writing for every day this month as well as for the rest of the year. I am a planner, but I tend to get bogged down with the planning. Thank you for the inspiration to sit down, plan some challenges, and get my creative juices flowing! Cheers! ~ Jen

  11. Wow, that sounds like a lot of writing. So what do you like better now: pants-ing or planning? I made myself a solemn vow to plan my next novel carefully and completely because with my first book, I keep getting these nifty little ideas that then have to be carefully inserted into the existing draft. One or two ideas might be okay, but I layered that book like some out-of-control sub sandwich.

    • Lori Carlson says:

      Thanks, Tamara… I guess I am still doing a bit of both… I plan until I write and then the writing is all spontaneous. I don’t outline, but when writing long pieces, I do keep a list of the characters, places, etc. so that I don’t have to backtrack to remember who did what where. Good luck with your next novel!

What's on your mind? Let me know!

