#IWSG – Embracing the Familiar

Insecure Writers Support Group Badge

The Insecure Writers Support Group  is where writers can share their insecurities and encourage one another. IWSG was founded by Alex J. Cavanaugh and we share our posts the first Wednesday of the month. The awesome co-hosts for the April 6 posting of the IWSG will be Megan Morgan, Chris Votey, Viola Fury, Christine Rains, Madeline Mora-Summonte, L.G. Keltner, Rachna Chhabria, and Patricia Lynne! If you’d like to join in, just click the link above for the IWSG sign-up!


 

Last month at this time, I was feeling all insecure and riddle with anxiety as I embarked upon a long writing project, namely my 31 day Noir-style WhoDunIt serial, The Stacked Deck. I’d only written one other lengthy project before, and I wasn’t sure I would survive the whole month and keep the story interesting. I am pleased to announce that not only did I complete the 31 parts, but I gained some lovely readers in the process who kept me going ’til the end.

This month, I am embracing some familiar territory – the world of Science Fiction. This is the genre that I most enjoy reading and writing. I’ve joined the A2Z Challenge and tasked myself to write 26 prompted flash fiction pieces. I am feeling pretty good about these.

The best advice I can give to anyone out there, after that harrowing month of March, is to step outside of your comfort zone once in a while and try something new. Not only does it challenge you as a writer, but it also frees up your mind so that when you do come back to the familiar, you are refreshed, renewed and ready to go at it again.

10 thoughts on “#IWSG – Embracing the Familiar

  1. Congrats on your writing project success! And that’s great advice about stepping out of your comfort zone. If I hadn’t done that, I never would have published my book.

  2. That’s great to hear you managed 31 days. Congrats! Good luck with your new story and the challenge. I’ll have to go check out your posts.

    ~April IWSG Co-Host Patricia Lynne aka Patricia Josephine~
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, Indie Author

  3. joey says:

    Great advice!

  4. Soul Gifts says:

    I just did it with the intense WP courses – photography 101 did it for me. ANd I was pleasantly surprised !

  5. Good luck 🙂

    @dixita011 from
    Cafenined words

What's on your mind? Let me know!